Tejano monument http://kut.org en Hidden For Years, African-American Statues Find Home at Carver Center http://kut.org/post/hidden-years-african-american-statues-find-home-carver-center <p></p><p><iframe frameborder="no" height="166" scrolling="no" src="https://w.soundcloud.com/player/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fapi.soundcloud.com%2Ftracks%2F99415936" width="100%"></iframe></p><p></p><p>A scene of five statues, originally intended to go on the Texas Capitol grounds, have finally been dedicated.</p><p> Tue, 02 Jul 2013 21:44:32 +0000 Joy Diaz 8269 at http://kut.org Hidden For Years, African-American Statues Find Home at Carver Center Photos: See the Unveiling of the Tejano Monument http://kut.org/post/photos-see-unveiling-tejano-monument <p>A monument honoring the contributions of Spanish and Mexican pioneers in Texas history was unveiled on the south lawn of the Capitol this morning.</p><p>Officials including Governor Rick Perry and Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst&nbsp;took part in the ceremony, along with hundreds of citizens excited a monument honoring Texas&#39; unsung forebearers&nbsp;had been installed on the Capitol grounds.</p><p>The Tejano Monument is comprised of &nbsp;11 &nbsp;bronze,&nbsp;life-size&nbsp;sculptures created by Laredo artist Armando Hinojosa.</p><p> Thu, 29 Mar 2012 18:50:54 +0000 Wells Dunbar 3938 at http://kut.org Photos: See the Unveiling of the Tejano Monument Meet the Artist Behind the Tejano Monument Tonight http://kut.org/post/meet-artist-behind-tejano-monument-tonight <p>The Tejano Monument &nbsp;will be <a href="http://www.utexas.edu/news/2012/03/27/tejano_monument/">unveiled tomorrow</a> on the south lawn of the Texas Capitol.&nbsp;</p><p>Over a decade in the making, the work is a monument honoring the contributions of Texas&rsquo; early Spanish-Mexican settlers and their descendants. The work was developed by Laredo artist <a href="http://armandohinojosa.com/">Armando Hinojosa</a>.&nbsp; He was <a href="http://www.tejanomonument.com/the-artist/">commissioned</a> in 2001 to create the multi-statue piece.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 28 Mar 2012 13:31:26 +0000 Tolly Moseley 3927 at http://kut.org Meet the Artist Behind the Tejano Monument Tonight Council Update: Rate Update Happening This Afternoon http://kut.org/post/council-update-rate-update-happening-afternoon <p>The news this morning out of Austin City Council is no news: A presentation from Austin Energy on <a href="http://kutnews.org/post/austin-energy-rewriting-rate-hikes">its revised rate proposals</a> won&rsquo;t happen until approximately 3 p.m. The council breezed through its agenda this morning, but Mayor Lee Leffingwell said it was unlikely the presentation would be completed in time for council&rsquo;s noon break.</p><p>In other news:</p><ul><li>A $1 surcharge per taxi passenger passed unanimously. The charge would only appear during &ldquo;peak hours&rdquo; of 9 p.m. and 4:30 a.m. The charge was <a href="http://kutnews.org/post/new-cab-fees-coming-council">decreased from an earlier amount of $2.50</a>, which would have stayed the same regardless of the number of passengers; action on a semi-related measure revisiting the number of passengers per cab was postponed. Thu, 02 Feb 2012 17:50:34 +0000 Wells Dunbar 3580 at http://kut.org Council Update: Rate Update Happening This Afternoon Top Morning Stories 1/13/12 http://kut.org/post/top-morning-stories-11312 <p><strong>Public Speaks out on Energy Rate Hikes</strong></p><p>More than a hundred people signed up to speak last night at the Austin City Council public hearing on a proposed electricity rate change. This is Austin Energy&#39;s first rate increase in 17 years, but some <a href="http://kut.org/2011/12/austin-energy-pitches-rate-hike-to-council/">consumer groups say the rate hike is flawed</a>.</p> Fri, 13 Jan 2012 14:21:54 +0000 Lucia Duncan 3447 at http://kut.org Top Morning Stories 1/13/12