Peter Overby, NPR http://kut.org en Supreme Court Takes Case That Could Puncture A Key Campaign Cash Limit http://kut.org/post/supreme-court-takes-case-could-puncture-key-campaign-cash-limit Barely three years after the Supreme Court's landmark <a href="http://www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/09pdf/08-205.pdf">Citizens United ruling</a>, which liberated corporations to spend freely in elections, the justices say they'll take up another campaign finance case — this time aiming at one of the limits on the "hard money" that goes directly to candidates and party committees.<p>The court <a href="http://www.supremecourt.gov/qp/12-00536qp.pdf">decided Tuesday</a> to hear arguments in <a href="http://www.fec.gov/law/litigation/McCutcheon.shtml">McCutcheon v. Tue, 19 Feb 2013 22:48:43 +0000 Peter Overby, NPR 6659 at http://kut.org Supreme Court Takes Case That Could Puncture A Key Campaign Cash Limit With Millions Spent, GOP 'Investors' Saw Little Return Election Night http://kut.org/post/millions-spent-gop-investors-saw-little-return-election-night A "return on investment" is a concept better known to Wall Street than to Washington. Mon, 12 Nov 2012 14:09:25 +0000 Peter Overby, NPR 5609 at http://kut.org With Millions Spent, GOP 'Investors' Saw Little Return Election Night Do Campaign Ads Seem More Negative? It's Not Just You http://kut.org/post/do-campaign-ads-seem-more-negative-its-not-just-you If you thought the presidential primaries were extraordinarily negative, now there's statistical evidence that you were right.<p><a href="http://mediaproject.wesleyan.edu/2012/05/02/jump-in-negativity/">A new analysis of TV ads</a> finds that 70 percent of the messages were negative — a trend spearheaded by the heavily financed superPACs supporting the candidates. At this point in the 2008 election, 91 percent of TV ads were positive.<p>The analysis comes from the Wesleyan Media Project, which examines political ads on broadcast TV and national cable. Fri, 04 May 2012 13:09:49 +0000 Peter Overby, NPR 4159 at http://kut.org Revisiting Newt Gingrich's 1997 Ethics Investigation http://kut.org/post/revisiting-newt-gingrichs-1997-ethics-investigation Even as Republican presidential front-runner Newt Gingrich is riding high in the polls this week, he's been dragged back into a debate over a problematic part of his past. Thu, 08 Dec 2011 15:53:16 +0000 Peter Overby, NPR 3173 at http://kut.org Revisiting Newt Gingrich's 1997 Ethics Investigation Perry Donor's Radioactive Waste Site Deal Scrutinized http://kut.org/post/perry-donors-radioactive-waste-site-deal-scrutinized Presidential candidate Rick Perry's ties to campaign donors came under more scrutiny this week when he was challenged during Monday's Tea Party debate.<p>Perry defended taking a contribution from a drug company and then mandating use of the company's new vaccine. "I raised about $30 million, and if you're saying I can be bought for $5,000, I'm offended," he said.<p>Actually, the drug company, Merck, has given Perry $28,500 overall. Thu, 15 Sep 2011 20:41:27 +0000 Peter Overby, NPR 2527 at http://kut.org Perry Donor's Radioactive Waste Site Deal Scrutinized Perry Got Much More Merck Money Than He Let On http://kut.org/post/perry-got-much-more-merck-money-he-let Political contributions from drug maker Merck to Texas Gov. Rick Perry are substantially higher than he said at Monday night's CNN/Tea Party Express debate.<p>Perry low-balled the number, saying the contribution was just $5,000. But since 2001. Merck has given Perry a total of $28,500.<p>In the debate, Rep. Wed, 14 Sep 2011 15:19:49 +0000 Peter Overby, NPR 2510 at http://kut.org